2010 in review

The numbers are in and they are impressive!  I’d like to thank all of you (a whopping 17,000!!) who stopped by Mike’s Place last year.  You’ve made it a popular site for all things related to Biblical exposition.   Below is just a small part of the summary I received from the good people who host my website, WordPress.

I’ll do my best to keep writing relevant Bible studies in 2011.  I trust that you will continue to find them helpful and challenging.  Some of you came here looking for specific information on a variety of Bible verses, topics, and personalities; for you, I’ll try harder to tag my posts to make your searching easier.

Please don’t consider Mike’s Place your destination for Biblical expositions and studies.  It’s not your destination, it’s your departure lounge.  My humble scribblings are not the final word on anything.  Study the Word of God for yourself.  Let the Holy Spirit be your guide and we’ll discover the Truth together.

But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. (John 16:13)

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads This blog is on fire!.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers. This blog was viewed about 17,000 times in 2010. If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 4 fully loaded ships.

In 2010, there were 136 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 481 posts. There were 186 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 28mb. That’s about 4 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was January 5th with 215 views. The most popular post that day was Rising Above Average: Of Mustard and Yeast.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were search.aol.com, facebook.com, alphainventions.com, blogsurfer.us, and en.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for bread, king david, ten commandments, king david of israel, and god.

2 Responses to “2010 in review”


  1. 1 snowgood January 5, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Hi there,
    This is the best site I have found in ages.Wordpress linked “Salutation” to your study in 1 Samuel 25.
    Looking at the detail you must take some time to craft these posts.
    May your posts continue to bless, you and those who read them.
    Oh, and your traffic is roughly double what Snowgood achieved.

  2. 2 Dr. Mike January 5, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Thank you for your kind words. Any good that comes from anything I write is a blessing from the Lord; my thoughts in and of themselves are pretty much worthless.

    Re: the traffic. Brother, I’ve been blogging for a few years and all I can say is that I guess it takes a mighty long time for folks to find you. I visited your blog, by the way, and I am envious of your photographer’s eye! I couldn’t take a decent picture to save my life!

    God bless.


Leave a Reply

Bookmark and Share

Another great day!

Blog Stats

  • 176,325 hits

Never miss a new post again.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Follow revdocporter on Twitter

Who’d have guessed?

My Conservative Identity:

You are an Anti-government Gunslinger, also known as a libertarian conservative. You believe in smaller government, states’ rights, gun rights, and that, as Reagan once said, “The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, ‘I’m from the government and I’m here to help.’”

Take the quiz at www.FightLiberals.com

Photobucket

