PC(USA) KOOKERY

Our wayward denomination has done it again.  As reported by The Christian Post:

A pro-gay marriage candidate was elected Saturday to serve as moderator of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) for the 219th General Assembly.  Cynthia Bolbach, an elder from Arlington, Va., was the only candidate out of six to express unqualified support for same-sex marriage, as reported by the denomination.

As regular visitors to Mike’s Place know, I am proud to pastor a wonderful congregation nestled in the Appalachian Mountains, but at the same time I am embarrassed to be tied to such a nonsensical denomination that continues to defy the Word of God.  Rarely have I seen a group of  “Christians”  that consistently comes down on the wrong side of almost every issue imaginable!

My church has, at best, an arm’s-length relationship with the Mother Ship; we have as little to do with them as possible.  I am asked from time to time, “Why do you stay with the PC(USA)?”  I admit, that question is getting harder and harder to answer, but my faith and my ministry have nothing to do with the PC(USA), or any other denomination for that matter.  I answer to God first, my congregation second, and that is the way I have always worked.  I am happy to support any church mandate rooted in Scripture but disregard the doctrines of man every time.  Truth be told, I have little use for denominations.  In this belief I appear to be in good company; the mass exodus of members from the PC(USA) and other mainline denominations shows that the ecclesiastical landscape of America is changing rapidly.  No longer do churches hold sway over their members; people change churches sometimes as often as they do their underwear.  The words “Presbyterian,” “Methodist,” “Lutheran,” mean virtually nothing to people under 30 these days.

In my stellar career, I have been associated with pentecostal/charismatic groups, Presbyterian, Baptist, Methodist, and even Anglican churches; anywhere I have been asked to preach and teach the Word of God I have done so.  And my message has never changed:

[W]e preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.  (1 Corinthians 1:23, 24)

As I survey the PC(USA), it appears to be operated by people living in some kind of spiritual vacuum where their thoughts and ideas shape the Bible, instead the Bible shaping their thoughts and ideas.  Our denominational leaders are so far removed Scripture, that their statements and “pronouncements” are laughable, causing one’s eyes to roll back in utter amazement that these people think they are being taken seriously. And the Devil sits back and laughs every time they do so.

In the weeks leading up to this years taffy-pulling contest, the General Assembly, some renewal groups within the PC(USA) had called for all kinds of prayer and fasting and so on, to which I reply, “What for?”  What’s the point of wasting the effort on a denomination that has pretty much strayed from the Truth?   Indeed, the focus of my efforts is as it has always been:  to be used by God in the building up of His true Church, as exemplified by the devoted members of Norton Presbyterian Church.  To these folks, whom I respect beyond words, I would quote Hebrews 3:1-3,

Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.  He was faithful to the one who appointed him, just as Moses was faithful in all God’s house.   Jesus has been found worthy of greater honor than Moses, just as the builder of a house has greater honor than the house itself.

0 Responses to “PC(USA) KOOKERY”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bookmark and Share

Another great day!

Blog Stats

  • 186,408 hits

Never miss a new post again.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other followers

Follow revdocporter on Twitter

Who’d have guessed?

My Conservative Identity:

You are an Anti-government Gunslinger, also known as a libertarian conservative. You believe in smaller government, states’ rights, gun rights, and that, as Reagan once said, “The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, ‘I’m from the government and I’m here to help.’”

Take the quiz at www.FightLiberals.com

Photobucket

