2010, Just another year, part 2

Of all the things to get excited about, the flipping of a calendar page seems the most silly to me.  Someday I would like to research why people get so excited about the things they do.  For example:

  • College football or basketball.   I can see rooting for your old alma mater, but why do people latch onto college sports teams when they never went to that institution?  Is it the color of the uniforms?  I don’t get it.
  • Golf.  I don’t know why this is a “sport.”  Even football, which is a mystery to me, is a tad more exciting to watch than golf.
  • The weather.  I know…we all talk about it.  But what can you do about it?  Unless you are troll like Al Gore, the weather is what it is and there is no use is discussing it to death.
  • Most TV shows.  I really don’t care who is dancing with whom, who survived what ordeal, who lost the most weight or whether or not that idiotic couple is getting the divorce.
  • Video games.  Look, if you are a 30 year old man, it’s time put on the long pants and put away your video game.  It’s a little sad when you have to get your thrills from a video game.  Go join a club, join a bowling league, read a book.  Spend some time with your wife.
  • Payday.  Don’t waste your happiness on it; the money will be gone in a day or two, anyway.
  • Blackberries.  I have a thing against cell phones to begin with, so I might be a bit biased against these things.  I just don’t see why people love them so much. Unless a you’re corporate CEO or something and the lives of hundreds of people depend on you keeping in touch with them, stay calm and turn it off.  They’ll leave a message or call you back.  And if I wanted one, I’d buy one.
  • Your job.  I know.  You either love it or you hate it, but you shouldn’t waste your emotions on it.  Your job is just the means to an end.  If you like it, consider yourself blessed because a lot of people hate theirs.  Either way, your job is not who you are.
  • Weekends.  Maybe it’s because I do what I do, but weekends just aren’t what they used to be.

Now, there are a few things worth getting excited about:

  • My wife.  It’s easy because she’s awesome.  Why wouldn’t you get excited about spending time with a person who is awesome in every way?   It’s too bad if you don’t get excited about being with your spouse, I feel sorry for you.
  • Church.  And it’s not just because I pastor a great congregation; I have always loved going to church.  Where else can you go and find acceptance, not only by God, but by a bunch of nice people?  You always learn helpful things at church, sing neat songs, and if you are really lucky, eat good food once in a while!
  • The Bible.  I love to read most anything not written by J.K. Rowling or Stephenie Meyer, but the Bible is the best.  I think I’d like it even if I weren’t a Christian.  It’s exciting, it’s funny, it’s informative, and if you believe it to be the inspired Word of God, it will change your life for the better.
  • Good friends.  I choose not to have too many friends, but if you are my friend, you’re the best, and you are always welcome at my place.
  • All the blessings of God.  Every good thing in my life is there because God gave it to me.  I get excited when I think about that.  It would be an insult to God to not get excited about all the neat and nifty things He has graciously given me.
  • Propane heat.  Oh man, after being without electricity for almost a week, how excited am I that we installed gas heat all over the house?  Very excited!  And very warm…

Naturally, I get most excited about Jesus Christ.  Serving Him is my heart’s desire.  Knowing Him better is the goal of my life.  Sharing Him with others my mission.  I hope you know Jesus the way I do.  If you don’t, you can do something about that right now.  He is as close to you as your next heartbeat; wherever you may be in your journey through life, it is never too late or too early to call on Him.

2010 is just another year, but it can be great year if you choose to follow Jesus Christ!

Happy New Year, and thanks for frequenting Mike’s Place.

Bookmark and Share

Another great day!

Blog Stats

  • 166,992 hits

Never miss a new post again.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 150 other followers

Follow revdocporter on Twitter

Who’d have guessed?

My Conservative Identity:

You are an Anti-government Gunslinger, also known as a libertarian conservative. You believe in smaller government, states’ rights, gun rights, and that, as Reagan once said, “The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, ‘I’m from the government and I’m here to help.’”

Take the quiz at www.FightLiberals.com

Photobucket

